Twitter Survey Results: How Long Do You Spend Writing Book Reviews

September 14, 2010
Yesterday I asked bookbloggers on Twitter (#bookbloggers) how long do they spend writing book reviews.  As expected the answers were varied and interesting.
Twitter Survey Results: How Long Do You Spend Writing Book Reviews
Prolific blogger kaolin fire (kaolin fire presents , @kaolinfire/) said: “just writing? maybe an hour, if it’s not an antho or collection of some sort; thinking about it? few more hours“.
Creative blogger iubookgril (Girl Reads a Book, @bellareads) chimed in as well: “15 to 20 mins usually“, while our resident librarian blogger Mieneke(A Fantastical Librarian, @Pallekenl) takes a bit longer: “About three hours? But I’m a slow writer!“.
Inexhaustible blogger iubookgirl (Reader for Life, @iubookgril) also joined the coversation by tweeting: “same here, unless I don’t really like or dislike a book then it might take a little longer to decide what to say“.
As for myself (@ManOfLaBook), I average between 30 minutes to an hour, a bit more if a contest in involved.   That’s just writing though, I could think about the review for several  hours, or even days, before I even put a word to screen.
 

How about you?

Zohar – Man of La Book
 Follow Me!

Enhanced by Zemanta
--- Please like and follow ManOfLaBook.com ---

7 Comments

  • abitosunshine September 14, 2010 at 10:49 am

    The actual writing, about an hour. But I've generally thought about it for days, even made notes, sort of a pre-write, beforehand.

  • Faith September 14, 2010 at 11:54 am

    It takes me about an hour too (I just wrote one, actually… just shy of an hour for that one) but I read the book weeks ago, so I thought about what to say during that time. I usually try to write the review within a couple of days, but I do like to have that time to think about the book and mull over what I want to say.

  • Brenna September 14, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    For me it depends on how much I enjoyed the book. I always have a lot more to say about a book I absolutely loved, and therefore my reviews are longer than books I didn't care for, which are usually only a paragraph. On a related note, I should really get on Twitter already.

  • Red September 14, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    It usually takes me about an hour to write up a review post. It might be less if I've already got some drafts started with notes of discussion points, but usually I start from scratch. If a post is taking me much more than an hour to complete I'll stop and work on it later. I try not to make the posts sound forced or rely too heavily on summary

  • le0pard13 September 14, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    I don't write many, and I only jot down something for those I really enjoyed (or got something pretty far-reaching). But, for those I do, it take me hours. I never like what I initially put down, and edit for most of those hours. It can stretch to days, as well. Thanks.

  • Bernadette in Austra September 15, 2010 at 2:46 am

    I'm a bit like Brenna – if I have a really strong reaction to a book (usually love but sometimes hate) it takes me longer – I usually think about those for a day or two then take 1-2 hours to write a review. If the book is a middle of the road one I spend far less time thinking about the review and might only spend 30 minutes or so writing it.

  • Read Aloud ... Dad September 22, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    To be truthful it takes me around 30 minutes to write it, around 30 minutes to edit and format it properly for my blog (http://readalouddad.blogspot.com) and often a further 30 minutes to correct the first two stages. But, I'm still a beginner in the blogging world so I guess the necessary time will go down, as I master stages 2 and 3 over time. It helps that I am reviewing children's books, which means that I read and re-read them with my twins. So, that is an advantage for sure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

38 + = 47

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial
RSS