Spotlight: Big Guy A School Horse Story by Celia Ryker

June 5, 2024

For fans of Black Beauty and A Horse Named Sky, here’s a new middle grade novel by award-winning author and former horse trainer Celia Ryker with illustrations by Kathy Connell. Big Guy is about a show horse who has big changes to face, and who learns that friendships can last beyond the time you share together.

Spotlight: Big Guy A School Horse Story by Celia Ryker
Buy Big Guy from Amazon.com*
More Books by Celia Ryker*

Big Guy is a big horse dealing with big changes. His looks and talent have helped him win blue ribbons at the biggest horse shows in the country. But when old age and injury make him unfit for winning prizes, his owner retires him to a position as a school horse, giving riding lessons to children. At the school horse barn, Big Guy meets Shorty, Kaiser, Slippy and many other horses who teach him about running in wide open fields and being part of a herd. Uplifting, funny, and sweet, Big Guy is a simple story told from the horse’s point of view that reads like a night under the stars, or an afternoon racing to a hay field.

I won this book from the LibraryThing Early Reviewers Program
*Ama­zon links point to an affil­i­ate account, the money is usually spent on books

--- Please like and follow ManOfLaBook.com ---
Summary
Spotlight: Big Guy A School Horse Story by Celia Ryker
Article Name
Spotlight: Big Guy A School Horse Story by Celia Ryker
Description
Big Guy is about a show horse who has big changes to face, and who learns that friendships can last beyond the time you share together.
Author
Publisher Name
Man of la Book - A Bookish Blog
Publisher Logo

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 32 = 37

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial
RSS
Twitter
Visit Us
Follow Me
Post on X
Pinterest
Pinterest
fb-share-icon