Taste Test

October 9, 2010

In order for any reviewer to be relevant, you must first find out if you and the reviewer share the same taste, otherwise every review, no matter how profound, is meaningless to you.

I like to read, always have and probably always will.  My taste ranges wildly from biographies to fiction, from young adult to hard core history books.

Here is a list of books of different genre I ranked from 1(hated it) to 5 (couldn’t put it down) – if you agree with these rankings, or close to them, you’d probably find my reviews helpful.

Don Quixote (Fiction) – 5
John Adams (Biography)  – 5
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Fiction) – 4
His Excellency: George Washington (biography) – 4
American Sphinx: The Character of Thomas Jefferson (History) – 3
Little Bee (Fiction) – 3
Eat, Pray, Love (Memoir) – 1

Hopefully I won’t have many more books to add in the 1 (hated it) and 2 (didn’t like it) categories.
The rating represents how I enjoyed the book and nothing else, I also rate each book independently and consider the genre and how the book is marketed (my expectations).
For example, if I pick up a book thinking it is “historical fiction” and it turns out to be a fictional story set in the past I probablly won’t rate it as high as if it was simply marketed to me as “romance” (in which case I probably won’t have read it in the first place).

If you don’t agree about a review, leave a comment about why you disagree, maybe I missed something or maybe we just don’t share the same taste and can have a nice discussion.

13 Comments

  • SuiteJuju February 16, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    That was cool. What a great idea!

  • Pam March 16, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    We have such similar taste in books. I am so glad you like nonfiction. I will add you to my nonfiction blog roll. 🙂

  • Herschelian June 6, 2011 at 4:58 am

    Just stumbled over your blog via ‘A Book a Week’ – am going to enjoy reading back through your ‘reviews’. According to your taste test we seem to have harmony. I also hated Eat,Pray,Love – what a load of self-indulgent tosh! My current blog mostly deals with life in China and includes a books list of books about China if you are interested.

    • zohar June 6, 2011 at 7:48 am

      Thank you. Your blog is great, China have fascinated me all of my life.

  • Helen November 20, 2011 at 5:43 am

    Hi Zohar:

    Your very welcome comments on my blog led me here a while ago, but while I’ve enjoyed looking through your site, it’s your rating system that hooked me! It makes me laugh every time I look at it.

    I’m also envious by how many books you read and review. I said in my very first post that I’m an extremely slow reader; so your funny and clear ratings will help to narrow my choices.

    Thanks, Helen
    PS: I hope you feel OK about my response to your last comment.

  • Julie @ Knitting and Sundries January 5, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    This is the first time I’ve visited your Taste Test section, but I love how you explain your ratings. I, too have an eclectic taste in books, and sometimes will rate a 5 even a YA book that I particularly enjoyed, since I rate it based on my own enjoyment and the genre. Great idea!

  • Surazeus Simon Seamount January 23, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    How interested would ManOfLabook be in reviewing an epic poem in blank verse (similar to Paradise Lost) about scientists?

  • Mathew Brogglin April 27, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    I really enjoyed this post! Many Thanks!

  • BGBowen November 30, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    Clever, very clever. I agree with your top two choices completely, so that seals the deal for me!

  • Kenneth Brueggemann February 7, 2013 at 9:44 am

    Howdy. Very first I need to say that I actually like your weblog, just identified it last week but I have been reading it since then.

  • Donald Platt March 30, 2013 at 10:25 am

    I thank you for your enthusiastic and favorable review of Rocamora.

    I compliment you on a great and creative site.

  • leslie October 5, 2015 at 12:44 pm

    What a great idea. It is nice to see someone with similiar tastes to my own.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 70 = 76

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial
RSS