Book Review: The Revelators by Ace Atkins (Quinn Colson #10)

July 1, 2020


The Revelators by Ace Atkins is tenth crime novel in The Quinn Colson series, featuring ex-Army Ranger Quinn Colson and his journey as a Sheriff to clean up Tibbehah County, Mississippi, his home. I have enjoyed Mr. Atkins’ books for many years and this one is no exception.

Book Review: The Revelators by Ace Atkins
My rat­ing for The Revelators5
Buy The Revelators from*
More Books by Ace Atkins


I didn’t think that after 10 entries The Ranger series could get any better, but somehow Ace Atkins pulled it off. In The Revelators the readers get a fresh story, coupled together with beloved characters we grew to know.

The book starts off where the last novel, The Shameless, has ended. Sheriff Colson was shot and left to die. The book start dark and the darkness doesn’t stop until the end. Once again Mr. Atkins has managed to show us the dark side of rural life, where every glimmer of hope around the corner seems like salvation at last.

As with the other books, family dynamics and personal relationships are an integral part of the narrative, central to the story, if not the center of the story many times. Even though there are many recurring characters, with a history of relationships, the story-line is still easy and understandable to follow.

The story revolves around Mexicans getting deported from a chicken plant, in an inhuman way which separates them from their children. Some children were kidnapped by gangs, getting sold to into the sex trade. What that, and several other subplots have to do with Quinn’s assassination attempt you’ll have to read for yourself.

This novel had many themes and many story-lines which are weaved in a very cohesive narrative, frankly it seems like magic. Mr.  Atkins has, once again, hit it out of the park with The Ranger series, it was nice to spend time with familiar characters, as well as with several new ones.


Sheriff Queen Colson is shot up and left for dead, but he’s not that easy to kill. Together with his wife, Maggie, and a stubborn personality Queen makes a slow, painful recovery and sets out to find who tried to kill him.

Together with good friends, and recurring characters in the series, Colson is fighting his physical handicap as well as the new queen of Mississippi crime, Fannie Hathcock.

Buy The Revelators from*
More Books by Ace Atkins

Zohar — Man of la Book
Dis­claimer: I got this book for free.
*Ama­zon links point to an affil­i­ate account

--- Please like and follow ---

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

57 − = 55

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial